how to use 5lbs of blueberries: lime scented blueberry muffins

If you follow me on my Facebook page, you might have seen that last Friday I made a trip to a local berry farm. I met some girlfriends and we spent the morning chatting and picking blueberries. Before I knew it, I had filled up my bucket and came home with 5 pounds of berries! The next challenge has been figuring out what to do with them all (other than the obvious choice of freezing them and putting them into smoothies).Over the next few blog posts, I will chronicle how I am putting my fresh blueberries to use.

One of the first things I did was consult my small collection of baking cookbooks. Time and time again, one of my favorite ones has been Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan. Dorie’s recipes are always successful in my kitchen; she never lets me down. While flipping through, I found a lovely Orange Berry Muffin recipe. However, due to the lack of oranges in my kitchen, I thought it would be fun to substitute for the citrus I did have on hand – limes. I haven’t often seen that combination as orange-blueberry and lemon-blueberry seem to be much more popular. I decided to try it out.

The muffins (and Dorie) didn’t disappoint! Made with buttermilk, they come out very moist. I took Dorie’s suggestion (as any good baker would do) and sprinkled the tops with sugar, which gave them a little sparkle. I also dotted the tops with a few extra blueberries just to make them look a little prettier. The lime, although subtle, adds an unexpected touch with its floral citrus-y flavor. The bright bursts of blueberry make these a very delicious breakfast treat or snack.

ImageLime Scented Blueberry Muffins

  • Grated zest and juice of 2 limes
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup blueberries – fresh or frozen, not thawed

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

Pour lime juice into glass measuring cup or a bowl and pour in enough buttermilk to make 1 cup. Whisk in the eggs, honey and melted butter.

In a large bowl, rub the sugar and lime zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry mixture and a whisk or spatula, gently stirring until just combined. Gently fold in the blueberries. Using a ice cream scoop or 1/4 cup measure, divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Recipe says it yields 12, but I got 15.

Recipe Source: Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “how to use 5lbs of blueberries: lime scented blueberry muffins

  1. Kim G. says:

    Sounds yummy! Might have to try this! And i love that pic and how they’re sitting on blueberries! fun!!

  2. Amy Leigh says:

    These muffins were soooooo good! The touch of lime was perfect — not overpowering but still noticable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

